The Page One Playwright

Each year, one playwright is chosen for our Page One Residency. Over the course of that year, he or she is provided with a sweep of services, including a $10,000 stipend, health insurance, internal readings, travel and professional development funds, theater tickets, and a fully-stocked desk in our offices. The approach is holistic and designed to allow a playwright both the physical and mental time, space, and resources to take a meaningful step forward in their career - and the cornerstone of our services is the Page One Production!


2016-2017 Page One Playwright Sarah DeLappe's play The Wolves (Clubbed Thumb/Playwrights Horizons Theater School, Great Plains Theater Conference) was a recipient of the American Playwriting Foundation’s inaugural Relentless Award and a finalist for the 2016 Susan Smith Blackburn Prize. Sarah has been a resident artist at Sitka Fellows Program and SPACE on Ryder Farm. An alum of Clubbed Thumb's Early Career Writers Group, she is currently a member of the Ars Nova Play Group and the New Georges Audrey Residency. Sarah has received an EST/Sloan commission and a spot on The Kilroys' 2015 List. Sarah is working toward her MFA in playwriting at Brooklyn College.